Invoicing & Suspension

This article covers invoicing policies for Namecheap hosting accounts, including invoice dates, renewal dates, and overdue policies.

Renewal Dates (Billing dates)

If you purchased a monthly hosting account on the 25th of the month, your hosting account will renew on the 25th of the following month. The same policy applies to all other available billing cycles.

Invoice Dates

Hosting accounts are invoiced 7 days prior to billing date. An invoice notification email is sent out at the time of invoice generation indicating the outstanding amount and the due date.

Invoices are due on the billing date. If you have auto-renewal option enabled for the hosting package, a credit card stored in our system and this card is set for auto-renewal, it will be charged on the 7th day after invoice generation (i.e., on the billing date). In case the first auto-renewal attempt failed, the system will try to renew the hosting plan on the 2 and 5 days after the billing date. If the system receives an error related to invalidity of a card (i.e. the attached card expired) it sets a pause in 7 days till the next charge. Thus, there will be only one more automatic attempt to renew the service before it is suspended. It is recommended to renew the service manually in such cases.

Suspension

Unpaid invoices may result in suspension of your web hosting services. Shared hosting accounts, Business and Reseller plans will be suspended 7 days after the invoice due date. Thus, you have 14 days in total to pay the invoice for the shared hosting services before your account is suspended.

For VPS and Dedicated servers, the policy is a bit different: these services become suspended 3 days after the billing date in case of non-payment. We will send a notification email regarding unpaid invoices before suspending a past-due account. Your account will be suspended when the final email notification is sent out. These policies provide our customers with ample time to settle their invoices.

Subscription-based Dedicated servers

If the auto-renew option is disabled for your Dedicated server, it will get suspended on the billing date; in case it is enabled, the server will be suspended in 24 hours after the billing date. In case the first auto-renewal attempt is not successful, the system will repeat the attempts to renew the service for the next billing period each day until the server is renewed or terminated due to non-payment.


Termination

In case the outstanding balance is not paid within 30 days after the billing date for the shared package or 7 days for VPS/dedicated server, your hosting account will be terminated for non-payment. If you wish to restore your canceled hosting account, please refer to this article.

Subscription-based Dedicated servers

Termination date will also depend on the auto-renewal option - if enabled, the server will be cancelled in 3 days after the billing date; if not - right on the billing date.

Updated
Viewed
44565 times

Need help? We're always here for you.