How do I change the service plan for my hosting package?

The article describes the steps for Shared, Reseller, VPS, and Dedicated servers.

To change the plan for an EasyWP, please check this article.

To have your hosting package upgraded or downgraded, go to the Hosting List menu in the bar on the left in your Namecheap account. Find the needed domain and click Manage next to the hosting package:

On the next page, choose the Change Current Plan in the Account Actions drop-down menu:


Alternatively, you can submit a ticket to our Billing/Sales Department specifying the following:

  • Main domain of your hosting package;
  • Desired service plan;
  • Preferred billing cycle;
  • Reason for the plan change.

Note: All of the details above are required so we can effectively process your request. Our Support Team may request additional information depending on the case.

In general, all plan changes are processed on a proportionate basis. What this means is that for Shared/Reseller plans, we take into account the price paid for your old plan, the price that should be paid for the new plan, and calculate the difference. So depending on the outcome, we will either issue an invoice for the difference between the two plans, or issue a refund to your Namecheap Account balance.

If your hosting package is already overdue, you will pay for the used days of your old plan, and the remaining days of your new plan.

Should you upgrade from a Shared/Reseller package to a VPS/Dedicated Server or vice-versa, we will issue a proportionate refund for the unused days of your old plan.If you have any further questions, please contact our Billing/Sales Department.

Updated
Viewed
60837 times

Need help? We're always here for you.