What happens with my Domain Privacy subscription after it expires?

When Domain Privacy protection expires on your domain, it still protects your domain name for 16 days after its expiration, but your personal data is still not released and kept private for the whole domain grace period. You can renew the privacy protection from your Namecheap account within this period.

Please note that Domain Privacy is added to the Shopping Cart with each domain renewal, transfer, or reactivation for free.

To make sure the service will not expire unexpectedly, you can set auto-renewal for the domain and Domain Privacy in a few steps:

  • Log in to your account
  • Go to Domain List
  • Click on the caret for the domain in question and just toggle the button for the service(s) you want to enable the auto-renewal for (please make sure "All Product" view is selected):


That's it!

It's also possible to renew the privacy protection subscription manually. Please refer to How do I renew domain privacy subscription? for a step-by-step guide.


If you have any questions, feel free to contact our Support Team.

Updated
Viewed
26742 times

Need help? We're always here for you.