How to set up sharing and unified mail

This article describes how to configure unified mail and sharing feature in Private Email webmail.

NOTE: sharing calendars and contacts via link is possible with Private, Business and Business Office, while sharing them with a certain group of people / a person is possible with Business and Business Office packages only.

   1. Setting up unified mail
   2. Sharing calendar
   3. Sharing contacts

Setting up unified mail

Setting up unified mail is basically the same as adding another email address into your Webmail.

It is a very convenient solution for those who like having all email accounts in one place.

In order to add another email address, follow the instructions below:


1. Log in your Webmail.
2. Click on System menu icon > Settings:



3. Select Accounts from the left-side menu > click on Add account > Mail account:



4. Fill in Your email address and Your password > click on Manual in order to manually configure mail server details:



5. Start with the following Account settings:



Account name: the name of your account
Your name: your first and last names, or any other name
Email address: full email address you are adding
Use unified mail for this account: checked or unchecked

Unified mail means combining two or more email accounts into one, so that Inbox, Sent, Draft, Spam, Trash folders will be shared.
Below you can compare the folder structure in both cases: when the Unified email address option is checked and unchecked:



6. Enter Incoming server settings:

 

Server type: IMAP
Server name: mail.privateemail.com (if it’s not a Private Email account, get in touch with your email provider for the correct IMAP hostname)
Server port: 993 port for SSL, 143 port for TLS
Username: full email address
Password: password for this email account

or:

Server type: POP3
Server name: mail.privateemail.com (if it’s not a Private Email account, get in touch with your email provider for the correct POP3 hostname)
Server port: 995 port for SSL, 110 port for TLS
Username: full email address
Password: password for this email account

7. Enter Outgoing server (SMTP) settings:



Server name: mail.privateemail.com (if it’s not a Private Email account, get in touch with your email provider for the correct SMTP hostname)
Server port: 465 port for SSL, 26/587 port for TLS
Authentication: As incoming mail server
Username: full email address
Password: password for this email account
When all the settings are set, click Save button.

8. If the account has been properly configured, you will get the message Account added successfully:



NOTE: sometimes when you use Gmail, Outlook or Yahoo email address as a part of Private email Unified Mail tool, the attempt to access your account may be blocked. This is because some of the most popular free email services reject successful login attempts, originating from unusual locations. In this guide you will find tips and tricks on how to temporary disable this restriction or add our server to whitelist.


Sharing calendar

In order to share the calendar, do the following:

1. In your Webmail go to Calendar.
2. Click on Options (three stripes icon) next to the calendar in question > Permissions:



3. Enter the emails address of the account you want to share the calendar with and click on + icon:



4. Once the account is added, you can do the following:

  • apply role (guest, author or administrator)
  • set folder permissions (view the folder, create objects, create objects and subfolders)
  • set object permissions: to read (no read permissions, read own objects, read all objects)
                                             to edit (no edit permissions, edit own objects, edit all objects)
                                             to delete (no delete permissions, delete own objects, delete all objects)

    5. When all the settings are set, click on Save:



    6. Once done, the corresponding icon will appear next to the folder of the shared calendar:



    7. The other user you shared calendar with, will be able to see it in Webmail > Calendar > Shared section:





    With all Private Email plans (Private, Business and Business Office) you can share a calendar via a link. To generate the link right-click the three horizontal lines next to the calendar name > select Get link:



    You can then set a password, expiration date, add recipients and a message and copy the link:




    Sharing contacts

    If you want all users under your Private Email subscription to be able to look up each other’s email addresses, there is no need to create and share contact items @yourdomain.com additionally, you can simply use Global address book feature in Address Book > Public section:


    To share custom contacts, follow the steps below:

    1. In your Webmail click on Address Book.
    2. Click on Options (three stripes icon) next to the contacts folder in question > Permissions:



    3. Then insert the email address of the account you wish to share the contacts with and click on + icon:



    4. Once the account is added, you can do the following:

  • apply role (guest, author or administrator)
  • set folder permissions (view the folder, create objects, create objects and subfolders)
  • set object permissions: to read (no read permissions, read own objects, read all objects)
                                             to edit (no edit permissions, edit own objects, edit all objects)
                                             to delete (no delete permissions, delete own objects, delete all objects)

    5. When all the permissions are set, click on Save:



    6. Once done, you will see that the contacts folder is shared with the user:



    7. The user you have shared the contacts folder with can check it in Webmail > Address Book > Shared section:




    That's it!

                  
                          Need any help? Contact our HelpDesk

  • Comments

    We welcome your comments, questions, corrections and additional information relating to this article. Your comments may take some time to appear. Please be aware that off-topic comments will be deleted.

    If you need specific help with your account, feel free to contact our Support Team. Thank you.

    Need help? We're always here for you.

    × Close