How do I upgrade/downgrade my package?


In order to upgrade or downgrade your current package to another one, please send a request to our Billing team in a ticket.
In your request, you'll need to provide the domain name of the current package and the name of the package to which you wish to upgrade/downgrade.
Once your request for the upgrade/downgrade is received, one of our Billing representatives will process it.

In case of upgrade, you will receive an invoice for the price difference between your current plan and the new one. We process all upgrades/downgrades on a prorated basis, so there is no need to worry about the unused money if you decide to upgrade in the middle of your billing period.
 
In case of downgrade, the difference between the two packages will be credited to your Namecheap account balance, and you will be able to use this money to cover the future hosting invoices or to purchase/renew any Namecheap services.

Upgrades/downgrades are processed at the regular renewal price: discounts, coupons are not applicable during this procedure.

NOTE: the upgrade/downgrade procedure is very easy and fast. However, sometimes it requires an account transfer to another server. In this case you may be asked to change nameservers for your domain name and wait until the propagation time period is over. We will gladly schedule your website content transfer for a time when your site receives the least traffic, i.e. during non-business hours or a weekend.

NOTE: if invoice for the difference between the two plans is not paid within 14 days after the upgrade, your hosting package will get suspended.

Comments

We welcome your comments, questions, corrections and additional information relating to this article. Your comments may take some time to appear. Please be aware that off-topic comments will be deleted.

If you need specific help with your account, feel free to contact our Support Team. Thank you.

Need help? We're always here for you.

× Close