Domains migration from Enom/Tucows to Namecheap

Dear Customers,

We announced in December last year that we’ll be using our direct ICANN registrar accreditation for all new domain registrations, renewals, and transfers. In January we successfully transferred a huge part of the domains from Enom to our registration platform.

Now we are glad to inform you that we are planning to proceed with a transfer of the remaining Namecheap-managed domain registrations from Enom’s sponsorship to our own credential.

When will the migration take place?

We plan to migrate the domains from Enom/Tucows to Namecheap from September 25, 2018 to December 31, 2018. The migration will be done in batches. We will inform the owners of domains via email and update this status post with the respective schedules. Due to the constraints with the Registries, the exact dates for the bulk move for the TLDs mentioned below are not defined completely. So far, we define the following time-frames:

Batch 1 – late September, 2018: info, mobi, org

Batch 2 – mid October, 2018: com, net, pw, host, site, space, tech, website, press, online

Batch 3 – mid November, 2018: .academy, .accountants, .agency, .apartments, .associates, .bargains, .bike, .bingo, .boutique, .builders, .business, .cab, .cafe, .camera, .camp, .capital, .cards, .care, .careers, .cash, .casino, .catering, .center, .chat, .cheap, .church, .city, .claims, .cleaning, .clinic, .clothing, .coach, .codes, .coffee, .community, .company, .computer, .condos, .construction, .contractors, .cool, .coupons, .credit, .creditcard, .cruises, .dating, .deals, .delivery, .dental, .diamonds, .digital, .direct, .directory, .discount, .doctor, .dog, .domains, .education, .email, .energy, .engineering, .enterprises, .equipment, .estate, .events, .exchange, .expert, .exposed, .express, .fail, .farm, .finance, .financial, .fish, .fitness, .flights, .florist, .football, .foundation, .fund, .furniture, .fyi, .gallery, .gifts, .glass, .gmbh, .gold, .golf, .graphics, .gratis, .gripe, .group, .guide, .guru, .healthcare, .hockey, .holdings, .holiday, .house, .immo, .industries, .institute, .insure, .international, .investments, .jetzt, .jewelry, .kitchen, .land, .lease, .legal, .life, .lighting, .adult, .porn, .xxx, .sex, .limited, .limo, .loans, .maison, .management, .marketing, .mba, .media, .memorial, .money, .movie, .network, .partners, .parts, .photography, .photos, .pictures, .pizza, .place, .plumbing, .plus, .productions, .properties, .recipes, .reise, .reisen, .rentals, .repair, .report, .restaurant, .run, .sarl, .school, .schule, .services, .shoes, .shopping, .show, .singles, .soccer, .solar, .solutions, .style, .supplies, .supply, .support, .surgery, .systems, .tax, .taxi, .team, .technology, .tennis, .theater, .tienda, .tips, .tires, .today, .tools, .tours, .town, .toys, .training, .university, .vacations, .ventures, .viajes, .villas, .vision, .voyage, .watch, .works, .world, .wtf, .zone .love .rent, .xyz, .design, .ink, .wiki, .la, .rest, .bar, .ceo, .best, .co.com, .cn.com, .com.de, .eu.com, .uk.com, .us.com, .ws

Batch 4 – December 17-18, January 10, and January 14-17
.ca

.ca migration batch is split into several phases.

Since the changes will be performed on the domain backend platform during the migration, we recommend to refrain from managing contact details for your .CA domain names as it may cause errors until the migration is completed. There may be also delays in restoring your .CA domain names from redemption.

This is an automatic transition and you won’t need to do anything.

What will change?

We will automatically switch some of the domains from Namecheap BackupDNS to our BasicDNS system along with all domain host records. During the switch, you may experience some temporary domain service unavailability. If you do, make sure you clear your browser cache and flush the local DNS cache. Read the following articles to help you do this: How to clear cache and How to clear local DNS cache

Your domain expiration date and all other settings will remain exactly as they are currently configured.

All the information on your Whois record will remain unchanged except that the sponsoring registrar will be changed from “Enom LLC” to “Namecheap Inc.”

All other ICANN domain transfer rules and policies applicable to your registrations will remain unchanged.

Accessing Account Panel

As before, you will be able to manage your Namecheap domain(s) via the Account Panel after the migration takes place. But some of the functionality within the Account Panel may be limited / not available during the migration itself.

Contact us

If you have any questions before or during the migration, please contact our Customer Support Team via Live Chat and the ticket system.

Kind regards,

Namecheap Support Team

Update @ December 5, 2018 08:20 AM EST | 13:20 UTC
The bulk move of .uk, .eu, and .ca domains will be performed according to the schedule mentioned below:

– .UK bulk move is scheduled for December 11, 2018, 08:00 AM – 12:00 PM EST |13:00 – 17:00 UTC
– .EU and .CA bulk move is tentatively scheduled for December 11-13, 2018.

Update @ December 10, 2018 12:00 PM EST | 17:00 UTC
.EU domains move is planned at December 11, 5:00 AM EST|  10:00 UTC

Update @ December 12, 2018 06:40 AM EST | 11:40 UTC
We would like to let you know that the bulk move of .UK  domain names was extended by the end of the week.  Thank you for the patience and understanding.

Update @ December 14, 2018 02:30 AM EST | 07:30 UTC
We are glad to let you know that .UK bulk move was finished. Feel free to manage/renew/reactivate your domain names.
Thank you for the patience.

Update @ December 17, 2018 07:30 AM EST | 14:30 UTC

Please refrain from managing contact details for your .UK domain names as it may cause errors at the moment.  We apologize for the temporary inconvenience and thank you for the patience.

Update @ December 18, 2018 08:15 AM EST | 13:15 UTC

We are glad to let you know that .EU bulk move was completed successfully. You are welcome to manage/renew/reactivate your domain names.

We have moved the first batch of .CA domains on December 17. All the affected clients received an email notification, and their domains are now manageable.

The second batch of .CA domains is planned to be migrated in January 2019.

Your patience and understanding are highly appreciated.

Update @ December 18, 2018 12:00 PM EST | 17:00 UTC

Dear Customers, we are experiencing issues with .CA domain renewals and contact updates. We are trying to do our best to fix the issue as soon as possible, however, unfortunately, no ETA for now.

We will update the status post once we have any news. Your patience is highly appreciated!

Update @ December 18, 2018 2:00 PM EST | 19:00 UTC

We are glad to inform you that the issue with .CA domain renewals and contact updates has been resolved.

Please accept our apologies for the temporary inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

Update @ December 26, 2018 06:05 AM EST | 11:05 UTC

We are glad to let you know that the possibility to manage the contact details for .UK domain names is enabled. Thank you for your understanding!

Update @ January 10, 2019 08:05 AM EST | 13:05 UTC

Dear customers, we have started the next phase of .CA migration.  Meanwhile, please refrain from managing contact details for your .CA domain names as it may cause errors at the moment. There may be also delays in restoring your .CA domain names from redemption. We apologize for the temporary inconvenience and thank you for the patience.

Update @ January 14, 2019 08:05 AM EST | 13:05 UTC
Dear customers, we have started the next phase of .CA migration.  It is planned to complete it on January 17. Meanwhile, please refrain from managing contact details for your .CA domain names as it may cause errors at the moment. There may be also delays in restoring your .CA domain names from redemption. We apologize for the temporary inconvenience and thank you for the patience. If you urgently need to manage your .CA domains, please contact us via Live Chat or submit a ticket

Update @ January 16, 2019 08:55 AM EST | 13:55 UTC

We are glad to let you know that .CA bulk move was finished. You are welcome to manage/renew/reactivate your domain names.
Thank you for the patience!