[UPDATED] Issues with upstream provider

Dear Customers,

We are currently experiencing temporary issues with our Upstream provider. As a result, you may face the following issues:

  • Registrations of .UK, .CA and some other ccTLDs/gTLDs may fail with the errors ‘Invalid response from provider’ or ‘Bad Request’. Please rest assured that all failed orders will be either reprocessed or refunded by our Billing team.
  • Issues with the contacts management for some TLDs at Namecheap.com website.
  • The update of nameservers and host records for .ORG, .EMAIL, .RED, .LGBT, .KIM, .FILM, .GREEN, .ONL and some other domain gTLDs may not go through. The following errors may occur in Namecheap account: ‘Error occurred: Access Control Violation – Host Record Changes not allowed’ and ‘Oops, something went wrong. Please try again’. The domains may also be suspended according to ICANN whois verification even if they are verified.

We are communicating with the Upstream provider and doing our best to resolve these issues. Meanwhile, we are also working on switching the main affected TLDs to our own registration platform as soon as possible.

Regretfully, there is no exact ETA at the moment. This status post will be updated once we have any news.

Should you have any questions or need additional clarifications, please contact our customer support team  via chat or ticket 

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience and understanding.

Kind regards,

Namecheap Support Team

UPDATE @ July 16, 11:50 AM EDT | 15:50 UTC

We are glad to let you know that we went direct with Nominet for registrations of .UK group of TLDs. You should not experience any issues with new registrations of these TLDs. Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE @ July 20, 04:00 AM EDT | 08:00 UTC

We would like to let you know that the issue with .CA domains registrations should be resolved now. Still if you face issues with registration of this TLD, please contact our support via chat or ticket .

UPDATE @ August 11, 03:45 AM EDT | 07:45 UTC

This is to let you know that the registration issue with the other ccTLDs/gTLDs  has been reported as resolved and you are welcome to register them. However, if you still face any issues with the registration of any of the ccTLDs/gTLDs, please let us know and we will do our best in order to resolve this for you, please contact our support via chat or ticket at any time. Unfortunately, issues with the contacts management for some TLDs and update of nameservers and host records for some domains may still persist. Meanwhile,  we continue to work with our upstream provider to resolve this and we thank you for your patience and cooperation. We will update this status post as soon as we have any news.